LibGuides: Tech for Faculty: Audio, Video, Images, and Infographics

Manipulate and create audio and video

Audacity
"Audacity is a free, easy-to-use and multilingual audio editor and recorder for Windows, Mac OS X, GNU/Linux and other operating systems. You can use Audacity to:

Record live audio.
Convert tapes and records into digital recordings or CDs.
Edit Ogg Vorbis, MP3, WAV or AIFF sound files.
Cut, copy, splice or mix sounds together.
Change the speed or pitch of a recording. "

Audacity is being used extensively in middle and high schools.
Animoto
"The end of slideshows" says Animoto's website, and I agree. Animoto takes your images, sounds, text and video clips and blends them into sweet, synced videos that look like movie trailers. Totally easy, and totally FUN!
GIMP
The GNU Image Manipulation Program (GIMP) is your bypass around Photoshop. Offers filters, masking, layering, special effects and other image manipulation tools.
TinEye
"TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version."
Masher
"Masher lets you easily create a video by mixing together video clips, music tracks, and photos all for FREE!"
Vocaroo
From the creators: "Vocaroo is a shiny new service for sending voice messages across the interwebs. It's still under development though, so problems may occur."
No account needed, no subscription to buy. Use Vocaroo to quickly record something, and then embed it anywhere.
AudioPal
"Thanks to AudioPal, anyone with a personal website or blog can easily add audio to their site. Engage your visitors by creating an instantly interactive website using AudioPal. Just create your message and embed your flash audio player."

Coloring in the Lines

FlockDraw
Have you ever found yourself scribbling notes and drawings on napkins or bits of paper to help express your ideas? Use FlockDraw to do it virtually, and share it in real time with other people.

Encourage Students to Use Images in the Public Domain

Have you ever cringed at a student's Power Point presentation that was obviously thrown together at the last moment using images clipped off of random Google image searches? Take a moment when introducing a PPT assignment to introduce students to the concept of copyright when using images - it's just like copying and pasting blocks of text in papers! Here are some sites where students can obtain images that are either in the public domain or licensed under Creative Commons....

Discover Yale Digital Commons
Search across 250,000 digital assets from the collections of 5 different museums and libraries affiliated with Yale University.
Flickr: the Commons
Flickr, in partnership with the Library of Congress, created the Commons in 2008 with the intent of creating more access to image collections by allowing Flickr members to tag, or describe, images. Institutions that participate in the Commons may mount images with "no known copyright restrictions."
Morgue File
"This morgue file contains free high resolution digital stock photographs and reference images for either corporate or public use. The purpose of this site is to provide free image reference material for illustrators, comic book artist, designers, teachers and all creative pursuits."
Wylio
"When you use Wylio, you're searching through millions of photos that have been designated as Creative Commons works by their owners/uploaders. We don't guarantee the validity of the licenses since we can't control what people decide to upload. So, be pragmatic when you decide what photo to use. If it's painfully obvious that "flickr_user_1234" isn't the copyright owner for that Coca-Cola logo they uploaded... don't use it."
World Images
"The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."
Image Base
This site is a project created by professional photographer David Niblack. He has released these images for re-use - note the public domain notice at the top of the page.

Word Clouds/Infographics/Data Visualization

Visualizing.org
"By some estimates, we now create more data each year than in the entirety of prior human history. Data visualization helps us approach, interpret, and extract knowledge from this information. Visualizing.org is a community of creative people working to make sense of complex issues through data and design… it’s a shared space and free resource to help you achieve this goal.
Tagxedo
"Tagxedo turns words -- famous speeches, news articles, slogans and themes, even your love letters -- into a visually stunning word cloud, words individually sized appropriately to highlight the frequencies of occurrence within the body of text."
Smore
Billed as a publisher of online flyers and brochures, Smore is being used in schools as an easy place for students to create infographics. Dump the poster - get your students online!

YouTube Without the Noise

Use You Tube videos in your classroom presentations, but without the ads, the comments and the surrounding noise.

EmbedPlus
Use to clip specific video scenes, crop, zoom, get real time audience reaction, add annotations and even throw video clips into slow motion.
View Pure
Use this tool to eliminate the ads and other noise that comes along with watching You Tube videos.

Tech for Faculty: Audio, Video, Images, and Infographics

Manipulate and create audio and video

Coloring in the Lines

Encourage Students to Use Images in the Public Domain

Word Clouds/Infographics/Data Visualization

YouTube Without the Noise

Manor College Library

700 Fox Chase Road, Jenkintown, PA 19046

(215) 885-5752

©2017 Manor College. All Rights Reserved.