Only What We Could Carry: the Japanese American internment experience by 
Asian American Studies by 
Chopsticks: a cultural and culinary history by 
India after Gandhi by 
Located at 247 N 12th St at the edge of Chinatown, the mural Colors of Light represented the neighborhood's history and its residents. When it was painted in 1999, there was very little public art representing the Asian American communities in Chinatown. On the right edge of the mural was a poem written by local poet and educator Jeffrey Loo. The mural was decommissioned in August 2017 due the development of an adjacent lot, and a farewell ceremony was held by the Asian Arts Initiative (AAI), one of the original partners in the creation of the mural. Thanks to the AAI's efforts over the past 20 years, Chinatown and other Asian American communities in Philly have gained a much stronger visible presence in the city's artistic landscape.
What do you think of when you hear Asia? Asia is the world's largest and most populous content by far, so it's not surprising that it's also an incredibly diverse place. The continent of Asia is commonly divided into several large cultural and geographical regions; each region contains multiple countries, all of which also have a diversity of cultures, histories, languages, and political systems.
South Asia (population: 1.891 billion) includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
East Asia (population: 1.7 billion) includes Mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea, and South Korea.
Southeast Asia (population: 655 million) includes Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Western Asia (population: 300 million) includes Turkey, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Iran, and Cyprus. (Note: See also our page about the Middle East.)
Central Asia (population: 72 million) includes Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
North Asia (population: 33 million) includes the part of Russia that is east of the Ural Mountains.
According to 2018 data from the Census Bureau, 6.5% of the U.S. population considers themselves to be Asian, including people who identify themselves as multiracial Asian Americans. However, the Census Bureau's definition of "Asian" only includes people of East Asian, South Asian, or Southeast Asian descent. So, the 6.5% figure may not include people with Western Asian, Central Asian, or North Asian ancestries.
Hulu
Netflix
